Blog Article

Ponderings on PR #8: Edinburgh and happiness

Considering my new career path and the many questions it throws up, especially among journalist/theatre friends, I thought it might be an idea to write a string of articles about PR – as people always seem to have questions! And yes, this is also a bit of shameless self-promotion… 😉

6 months (or so) after going freelance, life is pretty sweet. More on that in a second, but first the all-important promo: I’m going to Edinburgh this year with (currently) six brilliant shows:

Trainspotting – the Edinburgh and London smash hit, returning to Edinburgh, at a specially built Assembly venue, by In Your Face Theatre and the King’s Head Theatre.

I Went To a Fabulous Party… – a new gay play by hot new voice And Davies at c too, produced by the King’s Head as well.

The Falcon’s Malteser – New Old Friends’ adaptation of Anthony Horowitz’s classic children’s book, playing at Pleasance Forth.

Hamlet – English Repertory Theatre’s gender-bending female Hamlet heads up to Edinburgh after a cracking London run, headlining Spotlites @ The Merchants’ Hall.

Valiant – important, powerful feminist verbatim piece about women in conflict, produced by Handan Productions, playing c nova.

USHERS: The Front of House Musical – the smash London hit headlines the Momentum Grand @ St Stephens with its ice-cream tray dances and front of house romances.

More info on all of those here: http://www.chrishislop.com/edinburgh-2015/

I’m chuffed to bits. #1: I thought I might get a show or two and think about going – but I’ve been overwhelmed with requests. I might take on another 1-2, but that’s it. #2: There’s a huge range. Blockbuster musicals, alternative theatre hits, heavy drama, ribald comedy, kid’s shows, Shakespeare… In a wide variety of venues, covering 2 of Edinburgh’s highest profile houses as well as fringe favourites.

And this just ties into how well things are going at the moment – I normally try and write these articles (on some level at least) with an aim of saying something interesting about the arts/PR industry as well as being a bit self-promotional, but I can’t think of a way to tie in how well everything’s going and how well I’m doing with any sort of wider industry point.

So, let’s keep it short and sweet – I’m delighted and humbled. I had no idea this would go so well – I fully expected to bumble along PRing some shows here or there for a couple of years when I struck out on my own, but I’m inundated with work and work offers and couldn’t feel more engaged with and involved in the industry. Thank you to everyone who’s been a part of this so far, be that clients, friends, confidantes, and long may in continue!

Leave a Reply

