Blog Article / FringeReview.com / Writing: Journalism

Back to Life, Back to Reality

Showing my age with that title, I reckon… So, yes, I’m back. If you didn’t know I was gone, don’t worry, it was my honeymoon, I didn’t advertise extensively where I was going to be: wanted a bit of piece and quiet with the missus.

Enough of that, though: the world is busy, and there’s plenty to chat about! First, and most exciting, the TV career has taken a big stride forward: I’ve been writing a pilot script for a big and very successful London production company… but I really don’t want to say too much until I’ve found out what I can and can’t say. If there’s anything more nerve-wracking than waiting to hear what people think of scripts, concepts, excerpts and that sort of thing, it’s not quite knowing anything about how this process works… You can only play it by ear for so long! Still, I’m excited, and will update here when I know what I can say (and how excited I should REALLY be).

Apart from that, the show I directed for this year’s Brighton Fringe, When All the Crowds Have Gone, will be making a move up to London soon! We’re still script-tweaking, but will be talking to venues very soon… Keep your eyes and ears peeled! It’s probably quite fitting, then, that I too will be making the transfer to London soon… Yep, I’m leaving my beloved Brighton in the next couple of months for the capital. Brighton has been very good to me for the past 5 years, but I’m in need of a change of scenery.

And there is, of course, the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as the Camden Fringe soon! I won’t be in Edinburgh this year, but I’ll gladly share some tips in the next couple of weeks… again, keep a look out, Edinburgh attendees and enthusiasts! As to the Camden Fringe… well, I hope to be doing a little reviewing myself (details, again, still to be confirmed).

So, that’s what you can expect in the next couple of months: an impassioned goodbye to Brighton (maybe an article series), Edinburgh Fringe Festival previews, possibly some Camden Fringe reviews, as well as ramblings and the always exciting insights into my burgeoning theatre and TV career! I do feel truly revitalised: ready to take a big bite out of life and all that. It’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

