Scripts and Odd Writings

[script] playing god

A dark room. Spot on a FIGURE, a cloth bag over his head. He is manacled to a chair, his arms and legs tied. He struggles a little, twitches left and right, then sinks. Lights slowly up to a dim lighting state. The room is decrepid, metallic walls, a state of decay. A door SR. In the corner stands MAN. WOMAN walks through the door.

 

WOMAN

You got him.

 

MAN

It wasn’t easy. He struggled.

 

WOMAN

Where did you pick him up?

 

MAN

He was just standing on the side of the road, hitch-hiking. Easy.

 

WOMAN

Any idea who he is?

 

MAN

No. Looked… friendly.

 

WOMAN nods. MAN walks over to FIGURE. Squats beside the chair.

 

MAN

You have no idea why you’re here, do you?

 

FIGURE squirms. MAN laughs.

 

MAN (cont’d)

He has no idea.

 

WOMAN

No idea.

 

MAN

He doesn’t know what we’re going to do with him.

 

WOMAN

No.

 

MAN

He doesn’t know who we are.

 

WOMAN

No. He doesn’t.

 

MAN walks away. Turns to WOMAN.

 

MAN

Your turn.

 

WOMAN

Thank you.

 

WOMAN walks over to FIGURE. She strokes his face through the bag.

 

WOMAN

You’re here because we want you to be here. That’s all that matters. You’re here and you’re ours. And we’ll do with you as we please. Because we possess you.

 

MAN

We are all you’ll ever know from now on.

 

WOMAN

We are… your gods.

 

MAN

Your angels.

 

WOMAN

Your demons.

 

MAN

Your wants.

 

WOMAN

Your needs.

 

WOMAN laughs. Goes over to MAN.

 

MAN

I love doing this with you.

 

WOMAN

It’s so… invigorating.

 

MAN

Let’s do it together.

 

WOMAN

Yes.

 

They advance on the figure. WOMAN bends down next to him.

 

WOMAN

Don’t worry. You aren’t the first. We’ve done this before.

 

MAN

It will hurt.

 

WOMAN

But it won’t be too painful. We’ll be tender.

 

MAN pulls a knife from his pocket. MAN and WOMAN advance towards the figure. FIGURE hears their footsteps, tries to shrink away. Suddenly, ‘Crazy Frog’ can be heard. All characters freeze. MAN reaches into his pocket, pulls out a cell phone. Answers it.

 

MAN

Yes? Oh hi. Hi. Yeah. No. Just a sec. (to WOMAN) Just a sec.

 

MAN leaves through SR door, still talking. WOMAN freezes, unsure. MAN has broken the rhythm. While she waits, FIGURE starts to squirm again. She watches him apprehensively. Finally, she lunges at FIGURE and rips his cloth mask off.

 

WOMAN

Stop wriggling, you –

 

She freezes. Underneath the sack, FIGURE is unshaven, a cloth bit in his mouth. He mumbles something as he looks at WOMAN. Silence.

 

WOMAN

What the hell… Jack?

 

JACK mumbles into the bit. WOMAN undoes it.

 

JACK

Jamie, what the… What the hell is going on here?

 

JAMIE

Jack, I-

 

JACK

(shouting) What is going on?

 

JAMIE

Shhhhh, he’ll hear you!

 

JACK

Then what the fuck is going on!?

 

JAMIE

It’s, ehm… Gosh, Jack, long time.

 

JACK

Three years.

 

JAMIE

How’re things?

 

JACK

Well- not too fucking brilliant right now!

 

JAMIE

Oh, sorry.

 

JAMIE goes to release JACK, then stops.

 

JACK

What? (pause) Untie me!

 

JAMIE

I dunno, Jack..

 

JACK

What do you mean, you don’t know? Untie me.

 

JAMIE

I’m sorry, Jack, I just-

 

JACK

Jamie, I dunno what the hell’s going on here, but you’ve got to untie me. Please. Come on, Jamie. Untie me.

 

JAMIE is frozen. Finally, she picks up the bit and forces it over JACK’s head. She puts the cloth sack back on his head and walks away. JACK is screaming into the bit.

 

JAMIE

I’m sorry, Jack. I can’t. This… I… Look, we were a long time ago. I’ve moved on. To greater things. And I can’t untie you, I’m sorry.

 

JACK continues struggling as MAN enters SR.

 

MAN

Sorry about that, darling. Now, where were we…

 

MAN walks over to the figure, JAMIE joins him.

 

MAN

I’m looking forward to this. This one looks like he might be less cooperative.

 

JAMIE

…Yeah.

 

They flank JACK. MAN rips his cloth mask off. JACK stares wildly at MAN, then at JAMIE.

 

MAN

(handing JAMIE the knife) You want the honours?

 

JAMIE

Ehm… (pause) Let’s leave this one alone.

 

MAN

Leave him alone?

 

JAMIE

Let’s just put him back at the side of the road.

 

MAN

What! What the hell’s wrong with you? (he crosses to her) Look, we can’t just let him go now, he’s seen our faces. He knows who we are now. There’s no turning back. What’s wrong with you anyway?

 

JAMIE

I’m sorry, Frank, I just…

 

FRANK

Dammit, now you used my name too! Darling, he’s got to go. He knows too much. Let’s just enjoy it, like we did last time, ok?

 

JAMIE

I’m just… I’m just not sure about this one, Frank.

 

FRANK

Jesus.

 

FRANK paces away from JACK, playing with the knife. JAMIE’s eyes flicker between FRANK and JACK.

 

FRANK

Well… we can’t let him go now.

 

JAMIE

But-

 

FRANK

He knows my name! He knows who I am!

 

JAMIE

He doesn’t know anything about you. He doesn’t know-

 

FRANK

He knows what my name is. He’s seen me. No, he’s got to go.

 

JAMIE

But-

 

FRANK

Look, we’re going to have to kill him. I don’t want to kill him like this either, but we’ve got no choice. The game was only fun when we were in control. Let’s kill him, dump him in the same place, then find another.

 

JAMIE

I don’t know.

 

FRANK

Jamie, we have to. We have no choice.

 

JAMIE

I think we should just drop him off at the side of the road. I’m sure he won’t say anything.

 

FRANK

How can you know? You don’t know him from Adam. He could go to the nearest police station, give them descriptions… No, we can’t just let him go.

 

JAMIE

I don’t want to kill him.

 

FRANK

What the hell is wrong with you? What happened tonight? We’ve done this… (starts to count in his head) twelve times, and you’ve never had any trouble with it before.

 

JAMIE

I don’t know. It’s different this time.

 

FRANK

Why? What’s changed? Goddamit.

 

FRANK fiddles around in his pocket for cigarettes. Lights one.

 

JAMIE

Frank.

 

FRANK

What?

 

JAMIE

Do you mind? (she waves her hand)

 

FRANK

Right now I don’t give a damn.

 

JAMIE

Please, it makes me feel ill.

 

Pause.

 

FRANK

Fine.

 

FRANK stalks out, slams the door behind him. JAMIE pulls out JACK’s bit.

 

JACK

Jesus, Jamie, what the fuck?

 

JAMIE

It’s a long story. Look, we haven’t got time.

 

JACK

What?

 

JAMIE

He’s going to kill you. I can’t stop him. You need to get away.

 

JACK

Untie me.

 

JAMIE

First, promise you won’t hurt me.

 

JACK

The only thing on my mind now is getting the hell out of here.

 

JAMIE

You promise?

 

JACK

I promise.

 

JAMIE starts to fiddle with the knots.

 

JACK

Why are you doing it anyway?

 

JAMIE

What?

 

JACK

What do you think?

 

Pause.

 

JAMIE

Frank just came up with it. I think it gets him excited. I don’t know.

 

JACK

Right.

 

Pause.

 

JAMIE

It got you excited.

 

JACK

Not now, Jamie.

 

JAMIE

You used to get excited when you hit me.

 

JACK

Jamie, not now.

 

JAMIE

I hated you so much.

 

JACK

We’ll talk it through later. Jamie, please.

 

FRANK walks back in.

 

FRANK

Jamie? What the hell are you doing?

 

JAMIE

I was just-

 

FRANK

What’s going on?

 

JACK

She was trying to save me from your sick, twisted game.

 

FRANK

Why did you take out his gag?

 

JACK

Hey, talk to me, I’ve got a name.

 

FRANK

I don’t want to know. Jamie?

 

JAMIE

I-

 

FRANK

We’ve got to kill him, Jamie. He knows out names.

 

JAMIE

We can’t.

 

JACK

Yeah, you can’t kill me.

 

FRANK

We can do what we want.

 

JACK

Can you, Frank? You’re not a killer.

 

FRANK

I’ve killed a lot of people.

 

JACK

But you never knew their name, did you? Never saw beyond their flesh? My name’s Jack, Frank. I’m Jack.

 

FRANK shrinks away.

 

FRANK

I don’t care. I don’t care.

 

JACK

You do, don’t you, Frank? You can’t kill someone you know. You’re no heartless killer.

 

FRANK

(to JAMIE) What the hell were you thinking?

 

JAMIE

I just-

 

FRANK

What’s different about this one, Jamie? What’s different?

 

JAMIE

Nothing.

 

FRANK

Do you two know each other?

 

JAMIE

What? No.

 

FRANK

You do, don’t you? Come on Jack, where do you know Jamie from?

 

JACK

Ex.

 

FRANK

Ah.

 

JAMIE

He’s lying, Frank, I’ve never met him in my life.

 

JACK

She always brushes her teeth before taking a shower. She eats with her left hand. When she comes  she cries your name, but goes up at the end, like a question. Like she’s asking, are you still there?

 

JAMIE

I’ve never met him before.

 

FRANK looks at the two of them, eyes wavering back and forth.

 

JAMIE

It doesn’t matter, Frank.

 

JACK

It matters, Frank.

 

Pause.

 

JAMIE

We’ve got to kill him.

 

JACK

What?

 

JAMIE

You were right, Frank, we’ve got to kill him. He knows too much.

 

JACK

Jamie, you can’t kill me. You’ve felt me, you’ve been with me. You can’t kill me.

 

JAMIE

Give me the knife, Frank.

 

JACK

Jamie-

 

JAMIE

Give me the knife.

 

FRANK

No.

 

JAMIE

What?

 

FRANK

We can’t kill him.

 

JAMIE

He knows too much. He knows about what we’ve been doing. He’s got to die.

 

FRANK

No. We can’t kill him.

 

JAMIE

I’m going to kill him, Frank. Give me the knife.

 

JACK

Jesus Christ, Jamie! Frank, mate, you’ve can’t let her do this!

 

JAMIE

Give me the knife.

 

FRANK

No.

 

JAMIE approaches FRANK threateningly.

 

JAMIE

Give. Me. The. Knife.

 

FRANK

No, Jamie, I’m not going to give you the knife.

 

JAMIE

(coy) Come on, baby, give me the knife, all I want is the knife.

 

FRANK

So you can kill him? Why? I know he’s your ex, Jamie, I know who he is. What does it matter now?

 

JACK

Listen to him, Jamie.

 

JAMIE

(to JACK) SHUT UP! (to FRANK) You don’t know what he did to me.

 

FRANK

What did he do?

 

JACK

Oh please, that’s not important now-

 

JAMIE

He beat me. He beat me half to death.

 

Pause.

 

JACK

It’s not important.

 

JAMIE

Isn’t it?

 

JACK

No. I may have been a bastard in the past, but that doesn’t give either of you the right to play God. I admit I did some things wrong, but I’m paying for them now. It doesn’t give you the right to kill me.

 

JAMIE

(taunting) But what better chance, Jack? Me and Frank have done this a million times. And I get the chance I’ve wanted for an age, a chance to get back at you. And here it is. Give me the knife, Frank, I’m going to     enjoy this.

 

FRANK

No.

 

JAMIE

What?

 

FRANK

We’re not killing him. We can’t. It was fun beforehand. It was… fun when we had a purpose. We were doing it because it excited us, the killing. Not this. This is… too personal. There’s too much resentment.

 

JAMIE

I think you’re splitting hairs, Frank.

 

JACK

No, Frank, you’re-

 

JAMIE punches JACK in the back of the head.

 

JAMIE

Shut up, bastard.

 

JACK

Ow. Fuck.

 

FRANK

Jesus, Jamie.

 

JACK

Ow. That really hurt.

 

FRANK 

What the fuck do you think you’re doing?

 

JAMIE 

I don’t know, I just-

 

FRANK 

You got carried away.

 

JAMIE 

Yes, Frank, I’m sorry.

 

FRANK 

We can’t get carried away now, can we?

 

JAMIE 

No, Frank.

 

FRANK 

Now, you’re going to go outside, and get some fresh air, OK?

 

JAMIE 

OK.

 

FRANK 

OK.

 

JAMIE leaves. FRANK ponders, walks around.

 

JACK

Frank, mate, untie me. (pause.) I know I’ve done some bad things in my life, but you can’t kill me. (pause.) You don’t even want to kill me! You said so yourself. (pause.) You can’t kill me. You know me. You know all about me.

 

FRANK

True.

 

FRANK lunges forward, shoves the bit back into JACK’s mouth, replaces the bag.

 

FRANK

But I now know what I want. Yes, I’m a terrible man. I’ve done terrible things. Killing you should be terrible. But it doesn’t feel like it would be terrible. It doesn’t feel deliciously wrong, like the others. It feels right. And you’re right, I don’t have the right to play God, I shouldn’t be allowed to do this. But you’re going to be the last one, Jack. You’ll be the last one, because I’ve finally found what I was trying to kill.

 

JACK starts screaming, as FRANK advances. The lights fade.

Leave a Reply

