Blog Article / FringeGuru.com / Writing: Journalism

I suppose THIS is offensive now

For those of you who don’t read my other blog: Hi, I’m Chris. As you can see above, I work for a lot of different people, on a lot of different projects. I like to keep my ear to the ground, and I’ll use this blog to keep you updated on some of the biggest happenings in the comedy scene, as well as my own musings on the matters of the day. If you’re looking for something with a more theatrical bent, head over to my blog on FringeReview, Chris Hislop’s Theatrical Musings. For those of you who’ve come from there: welcome to more ramblings by me on a more comic topic!

Well, let’s start with something short and sweet: The Guardian’s recent outburst against “offensive” comedians. Just to recap the news: Brian Logan, at the Guardian, wrote an article slamming Richard Herring, among others, for being a gratuitously offensive comedian.  He has now bitten back by making the point that his show isn’t offensive, but is making jokes about the nature of offensiveness itself. The irony of the fact that they he is offended by an article calling him offensive isn’t passing me by, I assure you.

Look, whether something is offensive or not is entirely subjective, as is comedy.  For example, the fact that I think midgets are hilarious could be seen to be offensive!  OK, I admit – I don’t actually think that midgets are hilarious – it’s your offended reaction which really splits my sides.  I find people getting offended about nothing very funny – mostly because people think they’re being indignant and righteous, but are actually being prudish and stuffy, in my view.

Therefore, this news story puts me in a conundrum!  It’s hilarious that a comedian is offended by being called offensive, but I’m laughing at them, not with them.  And I reckon that, secretly, everyone else is as well.  What do you think?  Is there a point to offensive comedy?  Send answers to chris.hislop@gmail.com This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , the winners will get a prize of some sort.

Leave a Reply

